Gryffin Prize Draw

June 30, 2012

On July 16 at 11:59 PM RST* a winner of one lovely skein of Gryffin (merino/silk/cashmere) will be drawn from all owners of the Tiong Bahru pattern.

GossWebGryffinAsa

Gryffin, a new yarn from The Gossamer Web is a heavy laceweight at 600m per 100g. It has a lovely sheen and just the right amount of variegation. The colourway, Åsa, is a gorgeous, lively, limey green.

A second winner will receive my new stole pattern (not yet published), Serangoon. It’s the third design flowing out of a (very) big shawl I designed as a wedding gift earlier in the year. Serangoon is really the stole version of the original.

IMG_0659

I loved knitting the other two and how they turned out, but Serangoon is my favourite project so far in a long time – and I’ve been quite pleased with many things lately. I like everything about Serangoon; the intense, muted, jewelly green in the darker shades of Green Woodpecker plumage; the combination of geometrical swags that transition into an arch of airier mesh, and then that spectacular, billowy lace border makes another appearance. (It is the main feature of Tiong Bahru and also of the wedding shawl. The swag pattern in the centre is what defines the Bakau shawl but there as a flaring border, and features briefly in the wedding shawl.) Finally, the design is quite lacy, almost ornate, but despite that and the all-out border the finished stole has more of a contemporary, modern look. Just up my alley.

Yarn: Dye for Yarn Lace Silk/Baby Camel/Merino; 700m/100g, Crushed Pistachio
Needles: 3.5 mm
Notes: pure pleasure & some subtle beading

IMG_0706a
IMG_0713 copyIMG_0701IMG_0704

* RST = Ravelry Standard Time, also known as The Local Time in Boston, MA, (GMT -4).

The winners will be drawn randomly using the random generator at random.org.

5 Responses to “Gryffin Prize Draw”

  1. sallyg Says:

    What a lovely color and I think the stole is gorgeous. I’m on row 19 of the beautiful edge of my Tiong Bahru, can’t wait to block. The pattern is gorgeous, as is your new stole. Hope you publish soon.

  2. Doreen Says:

    oh my! How I would love to get my hands on that skein! The pattern is gorgeous too. Is this how to enter to win?

    • sa Tricosa Says:

      Hello, there!

      The winners are drawn from among all buyers/owners of the Tiong Bahru pattern. Sorry if I haven’t made that clear! And yes, the Gryffin yarn is absolutely gorgeous.

  3. lapsed Says:

    That colour is you *precisely*…. If only I could figure out italics, precisely would *be it*

    Your lapsed friend.

    • sa Tricosa Says:

      Lapsed friends are my favourite kind! Welcome back, dear lapsed one. ;) See you around, yes??!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

