yes, I know…

March 16, 2010

… finally the increasingly desperate blackbirds are announcing in triple-speed that spring is here. What’s what’s not to love?

Well.

1. Glove season is over

2. Mitt season is over

3. My only-just-begun designing persona will have to hibernate until next winter

Unless — I could switch to shawls and cardigans. It just might happen.

But first I’ll squeeze in just a few more mitts while hoping for especially brisk spring gales. These fingerless mitts are knitted tip-to-cuff to make use of that very last smidgen of yarn in that single skein. You just keep going until you run out of yarn or don’t feel like going any longer. The first mitt (mitten version in the works too) is knitted with The Yarn Yard Clan (saffron). The second mitt is knitted with Posh Yarn Sophia 4ply (cashmere). It surprised me by knitting up in the same size as a version knit with Clan despite having quite a different feel and apparent weight.

fia

moa

4 Responses to “yes, I know…”

  1. Connie Says:

    Yes! to the shawls and cardigans!

  2. Gabriella Says:

    Speaking (or writing rather!) for a person who has perennial cold fingers and cannot quite think of the British Summer as “proper summer”, I don’t think you should hybernate just yet…I can see myself wearing mitts and fingerless gloves until the average temps do not reach the high teens, and I am sure there must be other “Frostbeulen” out there, as one would say in German, LOL! These two are particularly lovely, but I would be interested also in seeing what shawls and stoles your knitty mind may configure…intriguing!!


Comments are closed.

