seduced by silk

February 28, 2011

Meet Atalanta, named after the (sassy) character in the Händel opera, Xerxes:

alchemy14

Alchemy Silk Purse (Dragon)

 

She comes with a bold, funky, almost chunky border, but unlike the character, is less trouble than meets the eye. This is a simple knit with a pattern that repeats over only 4 rows, two of which are plain knitting. Still, the border is satisfying in a strange way as it seems to produce an almost chunky fringe or instant lace without any real lace knitting. (And yes, it’s another sideways shawl, knitted from end to end.)

It is possible that I have knitted a few more… (in fact, I can’t seem to stop and am just off to try to get my hands on some Sanguine Gryphon for my next one… that I’ve already started (and almost finished) one in SG Sappho II doesn’t really count.

sappho01

Oh, and then there’s the grrrreeeen one in Wollmeise 100% Superwash… and…

wasabi17

8 Responses to “seduced by silk”

    • Åsa Tricosa Says:

      dziękuję! (No, I don’t read or speak Polish… I hope I wrote THANK YOU!) Åsa

  1. picperfic Says:

    I am so in love with this pattern, you are very clever…
    I have blogged a little about it today🙂


  2. […] I started on the Maudrigal project, I was knitting an Atalanta sideways Scarf using a skein of my precious Wollemeise […]

  3. Sally Says:

    Beauuuuuuuuutiful.

    I love the green (predictably), but maybe the gold even more.

  4. Sharon Says:

    Just too gorgeous! Need one in every color.

    • Åsa Tricosa Says:

      Thank you! (I’m well on my way to that… I may need to be distracted by something else to make me stop!)


Comments are closed.

